Movie Review: Jurassic World (2015)

jurassicworld
In the interest of fairness, I feel I should point out that even as a young child, I was never really a fan of dinosaurs. Blasphemy, I know, but it just meant that the announcement of Jurassic World (2015) did not ‘wow’ me as it did for many others, and after the previous three films (particularly the less-than-stellar third entry) I was not clamoring for more. This fourth entry into the dino-disaster franchise focuses on a new park, called Jurassic World, overseen by Claire Dearing (Bryce Dallas Howard), with Owen Grady (Chris Pratt), a raptor trainer, and Vic Hoskins (Vincent D’Onofrio) the head of park security. When Zach and Gray Mitchell (Nick Robinson and Ty Simpkins, respectively) arrive at the park, all hell breaks loose…

+ Vincent D’Onofrio as main human antagonist, Vic Hoskins was a joy to watch, and my favourite human character in the film. I didn’t recognise him at first, but was impressed with his screen presence, which was in many ways similar to his role on Daredevil – not a huge amount of time on screen, but everything he did was felt for the remainder of the film
+ Owen Grady, played by Chris Pratt, was more enjoyable than I thought he’d be. I assumed he would take the main screen time and have all the good lines and moments, but his role was much more of a single part of a great lead trio, along with Dallas Howard and D’Onofrio
+ Bryce Dallas Howard as park leader Claire Dearing was perhaps slightly under utilised, but managed to do her part as the final third of the main trio. He chemistry with Pratt was enjoyable to watch, but as mentioned below, she could have done more to show she was more than just the high-heels wearing ‘tough’ woman
+ perhaps more importantly than any of the humans, the dinosaurs themselves were looking fantastic. The use of animatronics, opposed to using CGI really worked wonders, just as it did in the films over a decade ago. The main dinosaur antagonist, the Indominus Rex, was constantly a real threat, and the now much publicised Velociraptors under Owen Grady’s control were simultaneously a comfort, knowing they were on his side, but a constant, background threat, because, well, they ARE velociraptors

– Nick Robinson and Ty Simpkins (also from Iron Man 3) as Zach and Gray Mitchell were sort of ‘take it or leave it’. I know the film needed the characters to follow as they did the sightseeing, but I’d imagine the ones
– Judy Greer, once again, has a very small role as Karen Mitchell, mother of the two young boys (and unfortunately, that basically sums up her entire character). I like Greer’s voice acting, and I feel she could do more in a larger role. Perhaps she’s happy with these cameo-ish outings, but I think she would do wonders in a role more suited to her comedic skills
– a few moments go very quickly from happy and awe inspiring to a very forced sort of drama, which makes sense for the story, but just destroyed the pacing of the film
– similarly to the above, a handful of very forced ‘comedy’ segments in what should have been tense moments were very jarring against what I imagine the situation was meant to be feeling like
– Jimmy Fallon cameo was just cringe inducing. Horrible in every conceivable way

> I’ve had this discussion with a few people already, but it bears repeating; making a crack about your main female running around through bushes and rivers in heels doesn’t excuse you, as a film maker, from making your lead female run through bushes and rivers while wearing heels.

Should you see this film: As I said, I was never a huge Jurassic Park fan, but I always admired the use of animatronics over CGI. Jurassic World was fun to watch, and had a few ‘oh crap’ moments, but I think you’ll get the most out of this if you were a fan of the originals. Or, I suppose, if you just really love dinosaurs.

Leave a Reply

