Game Review: Q.U.B.E. 2

Release date: 2017
Version played: Xbox One in 2019

Developed and published by Toxic Games, Q.U.B.E. 2 is the 2017 sequel to the 2011 original. Taking control of Amelia Cross (Tamaryn Payne) entirely in the first person, players will communicate with scientist Emma Sutcliffe (Alix Dunmore) as they solve puzzles involve the manipulation of blank “pads”. The pads can be altered to act as springboards or platforms which can be raised or lowered, amongst other things, in order to progress through a series of rooms and uncover just what happened to everyone else.

+ immensely satisfying puzzles, with only a few simple abilities used in ingenious ways. The moment you finally figure out how to combine the few abilities to finish the room are some of the best I’ve had in a long time.
+ pretty good sound design, both in the environment and the radio communications. Both Payne and Dunmore make good use of their limited lines, and the “shwoop” of various puzzle solvings will soon be burned into your brain

qube2_2
There are some mysteries to be solved in this sterile locale.

– the game is relatively short, and I managed to finish it in just two short sessions maybe four to six hours altogether

> this game has been sitting in my games library for a long time now, and I only went to play it because I had no internet and needed something to keep me occupied. I might start going through my downloaded games more often

Should you play this game: Almost playing the part of a Portal spin-off, Q.U.B.E. 2 kept me interested from start to finish, even if that finish came a bit too quickly. A few difficult-until-they-weren’t puzzles broke up a handful of puzzles that left me disappointed at their ease, and the story progressed nicely, even if it was a bit predictable. This was a good, little game. If you can get it cheap (or better still, free) you’ll enjoy it.

Leave a comment